Posted by: donnatallman | August 17, 2014

Who Will Help Humpty?

Photo by Donna Tallman

Photo by Donna Tallman

         

         

          Humpty Dumpty sat on a wall.

          Humpty Dumpty had a great fall.

          All the king’s horses and all the king’s men

          Couldn’t put Humpty together again…

 

 

 

“Innocents Blown Out of the Sky Over Ukraine”

“Tunnels of Terror Threaten Gaza and Israel”

“Ebola Outbreak Kills 1,000 in West Africa”

“ISIS Terrorizes Iraq and Syria”

“State of Emergency Declared in Ferguson, Missouri”

“Robin Williams’ Death Stuns a Nation”

News headlines during July and August 2014, have showcased some of the worst evil mankind can perpetrate against itself. As if the violence wasn’t enough, these shattering headlines have also included the incredibly sad result of the most despairing of human emotions ~ depression leading to suicide. I can’t remember a news cycle filled with as much violence, tragedy, and sadness as the past few weeks.

These daily briefings of the world’s woes have rendered my soul and my spirit totally exhausted. I’d love to opt out of the world’s despair, but I can’t. As much as I have wanted to look away from the anguish, my soul connects deeply with the profound suffering humanity is enduring and my spirit cries out in agonizing prayer for people I have never met.

Violence, murder, revenge, and rape. The drumbeat grows ever louder.

Who will help us? Who will put Humpty together again once he has fallen?

Photo by Donna Tallman

Photo by Donna Tallman

All the king’s horses and all the king’s men couldn’t put Humpty together again, so even poor Humpty was destroyed by his fall. Humpty had access to all the king’s resources and still it wasn’t enough to repair all the damage done. Humpty was still fallen. He was still shattered, and he was still broken.

We have all fallen off that wall. We are all shattered. We are all broken…

…But God.

But God demonstrates His own love toward us in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.” Romans 5:8

“My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” Psalm 73:26

We are a broken people shattered by broken people, but because of God, we are also a broken people restored and redeemed by a broken person:  “And when Jesus had given thanks, He broke it and said, Take, eat. This is My body, which is broken for you. Do this to call Me to remembrance.” (AMP) 1 Corinthians 11:24

Jesus’ willingness to be broken for me has restored and redeemed the profound brokenness that fragmented my own life. I’ve seen him do that in me. I’ve seen him do that in others. I’ve seen him do that in some of you.

One day the despairing headlines will cease. Atrocities will stop. We won’t march armies at one another, or incite terror in the hearts of one another any more. Our children will play freely unhindered by evil, and our women will walk the streets without fear. The darkness of depression will be dissolved by a brilliant sunrise of hope and healing. One day this will all be over and peace will reign.

“Behold, the tabernacle of God is among men, and He will dwell among them, and they shall be His people, and God Himself will be among them, and He will wipe away every tear from their eyes; and there will no longer be any death; there will no longer be any mourning, or crying, or pain; the first things have passed away.” Revelation 21:3-4

But that day is not this day.

On this day I hear weeping; I hear crying. I sense the sorrow and despair of a world without hope. Our world is spiraling out of control. Lawlessness feeds violence, violence begets terror, and terror produces tyranny.

This is our world. This is our reality. This is our sorrow.

Photo by Donna Tallman

Photo by Donna Tallman

So, on this day, while I await that day, I will not quit. I will not opt out of the world’s pain. I will fight instead. I will fight on my knees for restoration. I will fight on my knees for redemption and peace. I will contend for unity. I will guard the oppressed. I will champion justice. I will help the orphan and remember the widow. I will touch the sick and believe in resurrection.

I will not lose hope.

Instead, I will believe that he who is faithful and true has called me to this, and I will believe he will bring it to pass. I cannot afford to lose hope. We cannot afford to lose hope. The world awaits rescue.

The world awaits you.

Only restored people can restore people.

Let us not lose heart in doing good, for in due time we will reap if we do not grow weary.” Galatians 6:9

© Copyright, 2014 by Donna Tallman.

Contact: sogreatajourney@yahoo.com

Responses

  1. Gal. 6:9…Amen! I praise God for the gifts of discernment, encouragement, and exhortation He has given you. Praying for you, dear one! 🌹

    • Thank you for your faithful encouragement of all those Humpty Dumptys that cross your paths!

  2. Thank you for wrapping words around my thoughts and the feelings in my heart.

    • thank you, Sue for all your prayers for me and many others out there on the frontlines. You’re such an encouragement!


Leave a Reply

Categories

