Posted by: donnatallman | June 25, 2014

Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This…

“Momma said there’d be days like this, there’d be days like this my momma said.”

Momma said.

Photo by Donna Tallman

Photo by Donna Tallman

Yesterday Bob and I drove hundreds of miles through farmland and cattle country as we made yet another trek across this beautiful country. (I think this is our third trip in the last year and a half) We are on our way to North Carolina at the moment, but that’s a subject for a different blog entry.

Having only eight hours on our driving schedule yesterday, we flew by city after city all the while serenaded by Glen Campbell, Alan Jackson, and John Denver on some country Oldies station out of Newton, Iowa.

There’s something so great about tuning into local radio stations driving cross-country ~ they give us an instant connection to the people of the area. Local stations also give us any emergency weather updates should we ever need them.

Well, they are supposed to anyway…

Photo by Steven Tallman

Photo by Steven Tallman

Yesterday we (unknowingly) got caught in the backwash of a tornado that touched down causing considerable damage but no injuries. Bob was driving and I was bopping along to “Amarillo By Morning,” when all of the sudden we entered a deluge of pounding rain. Midwest rain is not at all like Oregon rain; it’s ferocious. The rain falls in huge drops pummeling everything in its path, like a T-Rex stomping through a cornfield.

Being a closet weather geek, I absolutely love to study storms and meteorology patterns. Tornado Week on “The Weather Channel” is one of my favorite weeks of the year. Yesterday I learned that it’s one thing to watch a dangerous tornado on TV, but an altogether different experience to drive through one.

It unraveled me.

About the time we made it to the middle of the storm cell, the radio started blaring emergency weather advisory upates. “Tornado on the ground, seek immediate shelter! Tornado on the ground…” the official bulletin exclaimed.

Too late for us, we were already being hammered by the howl and I was about to enter panic mode. Do you stop and try to get out, or do you keep driving hoping it’s not in front of you? I texted my sister to pray and my sons to see if they could go online to tell us where the storm was headed. After a barrage of texts back and forth, Philip let us know the tornado was going north. Thankfully we were going east.

Photo by Donna Tallman

Photo by Donna Tallman

For the next few minutes Bob and I rehashed the crisis/excitement we’d just been through when all of a sudden a semi truck on my side of the car blew one of its rear tires at 70 miles per hour. We thought something had hit the car. Bob swerved and I screamed. Not helpful. When we realized the semi had blown a tire, we followed him to a stopping place to check our own car. The car was fine. I was not. The concussion of the explosion altered the cabin pressure in our car and my ears throbbed for the next two hours.

By the time we stopped for the night, my nerves were shot. All I wanted to do was go out to dinner and eat away the danger of the day. Not only was I rattled ~ I was starving. Danger does that to me! Back in the car. As we drove to the main road, the sky opened up again and dumped sheets of rain faster than the city drains could carry them away. Instant flood.

Somebody was trying to kill us and I’d had enough.

“Momma said there’d be days like this.”

Somewhere between hopping out of the car and puddle-jumping my way into the restaurant, I heard the Lord say, “For He will give His angels charge concerning you, to guard you in all your ways. They will bear you up in their hands, that you do not strike your foot against a stone.” Psalm 91:11-12

Photo by Donna Tallman

Photo by Donna Tallman

I was four years old the first time I ever heard those verses. My mom quoted them to me while removing a hunk of tree branch that had flown up under my eyelid. I could have lost my eyesight.

Yeah, Momma said there’d be days like this, but despite any difficulties life might send our way, my own momma reminded me so many years ago that, as long as I walked with Jesus, I’d never face any of them alone.

Good thing.

© Copyright, 2014 by Donna Tallman.

Contact: sogreatajourney@yahoo.com

 

Responses

  1. Beautiful post Donna! Like you. Glad you are both safe! Adrianne

    >

    • Thanks, Adrianne! Yes, we are safe and sound – ready to hit the road again this morning to finish our trip to North Carolina. This part of the country is so beautiful…scary, but beautiful!

  2. So glad you are safe! I look forward to your adventure in NC, as my kiddos have spent a few days of their lives their. Safe journey my friend. 🙂

    • Thanks…it is beautiful here in North Carolina – lots of things to adapt to quickly that’s for sure. We’re trying to acclimate to the humidity having just come from one of the most arid states in the nation. Not easy, but we’re lovin’ the southern accents here! Miss you, friend!


Leave a Reply

Categories

