Posted by: donnatallman | March 7, 2014

An Undivided Heart

Photo by Donna Tallman

Photo by Donna Tallman

“Teach me Your way, O Lord; I will walk in Your truth; Unite my heart to fear Your name.” Psalm 86:11

David asked the God who created the universe to be his teacher.

His teacher ~ such a humble designation for a king to use.

Did “the king” really need a tutor? Apparently David thought so. David realized there were missing pieces in his understanding, so he called out to God for assistance. His voluntary submission to God as teacher reveals that David clearly understood his own limitations. It also reveals that David was a man of profound humility.

“Teach me Your way, O Lord; I will walk in Your truth…”

Inherent in David’s request for help is the surrender of his own will. David has yielded his “right of way” in pursuit of something greater: the truth. David has committed to cooperating with and obeying the Master Teacher. This makes him an eager and enthusiastic learner. Happy is the teacher who has a classroom full of “Davids” who are excited to learn new things and put them into practice.

Miserable is the teacher whose classroom is a daily battleground of antagonism and resistance.

What kind of learner am I?

Do I look forward to incorporating God’s instruction into my life, or do I seek ways to circumvent it? Am I eager with him or apathetic? Flexible or rigid? Do I follow the Lord’s voice or usurp control from him? Do I listen or antagonize? Cooperate or resist? Grow or stagnate?

As important as it is to have a teacher, David asks for one more thing; he asks God to unite his heart. David wants unity because he knows that a divided heart will make him unstable. In this Psalm, David, the man after God’s heart, care-takes his own heart by asking God for assistance. David guards his heart by uniting it to his Teacher’s for protection.

What separates your heart from God?

Prayer:

Heavenly Father, teach me your truth. I want to be an eager learner like David, so help me lay aside my pride and enter into the joy of this journey with you. You are the God who made the heavens and the earth. You ordered the stars to march across the night sky giving each one a name. You created the seas to roar and the butterfly to float gently by in the breeze. Lord, unite my heart to fear your name so that I can walk with an undivided heart all the days of my life.

© Copyright, 2014 by Donna Tallman.

Contact: sogreatajourney@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

