Posted by: donnatallman | February 24, 2014

Writing on the Wall

Photo by Donna Tallman

Photo by Donna Tallman

Okay, so I know I’ve made a big deal out of defining “home” as wherever I happen to be and wherever God is, and I still believe that. However, today I decided to fill you in on the “if I could I would” part of my desire for home. When all is said and done, this is what I really want:

Home is where I can scribble ideas for new writing projects on the wall if I want.

Home is where my pictures hang on the wall long enough to become dusty.

Home is where I can paint a wall any color I want.

Home is where the issues of life are worked out because they have to be.

Home is where I can have a puppy.

Home is where I get to order return address labels.

Home is where I am cared for when I get sick.

Home is where I go after I get lost.

Home is where I know my neighbor’s last name.

Home is where the barista at my favorite coffee shop doesn’t have to ask for my name when he writes it on my cup.

Photo by Donna Tallman

Photo by Donna Tallman

Home is where I can plant tulip bulbs in the fall knowing I will be there to applaud them when they come up in the spring.

Home is the place that gives me more than I will ever be able to give it.

Home is where others know to find me.

Home is where life conquers any death I will ever experience.

Home is where failure becomes the first step toward success.

Home is where an image doesn’t exist.

Home is where others offer their strength for my weakness.

Home is where I celebrate Christmas all year long.

Home is where support is guaranteed although disagreement can be profound.

Home is where faith is free to express its doubts and becomes stronger for it.

Home is where the fire of scrutiny discerns the depth of integrity.

Home is the place where all those who enter find rest.

Home is where I talk with God in the cool of the day.

Home is where I worship with abandon.

Cookies and Photo by Donna Tallman :)

Cookies and Photo by Donna Tallman 🙂

Home is where my cookie jar never gets empty.

Home is where history is written on the heart.

Home is where God’s still small voice can be heard above the dishwasher.

Home is where love drives out all fear.

Home is where an old book and an old friend are one and the same.

Home is where grace abounds.

Home is where there are no secrets and no unopened boxes.

Home is where hope never wanes and love never fails.

And for all my Oregon buddies, home is:

Photo by Donna Tallman

Photo by Donna Tallman

What’s home to you?

© Copyright, 2014 by Donna Tallman.

Contact: sogreatajourney@yahoo.com

Responses

  1. I loved this Donna!!!

    Betty

    • Thanks, Betty…I think I’m going to keep adding to it!

  2. That was fun to read. It is fun to dream as long as it does not become counter productive. Dream, Donna, dream. Dream as you continue to embrace your time traveling. I picture you and Bob scattering Jesus across the country. Kind of like I need to do with pasture seeds and our property. Keeping scattering and dreaming.
    Oh, something interesting I learned this weekend about pasture seeds. Some you can just scatter and they will grow, the stand lasting about 2 yrs and then will either need they need rest (not grazed off of) to scatter it’s own seeds to continue to be present. Other seeds need a covering to be able to grow. These can to be just scattered, they need to be covered with an inch or so of soil to grow, but once established, if taken care of properly the stand can last for many years. If you cover them to much though they will not ever reach the top of the soli and die before they can establish themselves. I am sure there is a great analogy in this for seed planting for The Lord.

    • I love the analogy…scattering itty bitty seeds all over the place. How would you like to come too?! Would love your company out on the open road. Thanks for the encouragement, blessings as you serve faithfully in your corner of the world.

  3. Ahhh, I love that purple and green PDX carpeting!!! Lord, bring Donna home!!!

    • I hope they never change it. Like a house that takes on a character in a movie, that carpet has become quite its own character to all who pass through pdx and call it home!

  4. I really like this Donna – kinda made me verklempt. Nicely done

    • Verklempt…nicely said! Thanks, cryptopur

  5. I love your list! Here are a couple I thought of:
    Home is where I can lay my head down to sleep in peace.
    Home is where I can wander around praying in the middle of the night.

    • Okay, I’ll add yours too! Thanks, Susan!


Leave a Reply

Categories

