Posted by: donnatallman | February 13, 2013

What Do We Know?

 Yesterday afternoon I watched in horror with the rest of the nation as the nine-day manhunt for a former Los Angeles police officer gone rogue came to a violent and fiery conclusion. As law enforcement officials surrounded Christopher Dorner who had holed up in a cabin near the town of Big Bear, California, media outlets began blasting updates on the incident with lightning speed. Some of the information was accurate, but much of it was not and later had to be retracted.

Wolf Blitzer, veteran news anchor from CNN, spent much of his afternoon repeating one question over and over, “What do we know? What do we know?” Returning to what had actually been confirmed and verified by local authorities was Blitzer’s way of navigating the tidal wave of information spewing out of Southern California media outlets and online social networking sites.

What do I know?

I know that a dear friend from college days had a husband and a son on duty with the San Bernardino Sheriff’s Department throughout the ordeal and was concerned about their safety. I know the law enforcement community of Southern California is grieving the loss of several police officers and related family members. I know that uncontrolled rage has catastrophic consequences.

I know that God is faithful. I know that God is good. I know that God has appointed governing authorities over us for our protection and wellbeing. I know that people don’t always appreciate them. I know that most law enforcement officers are dedicated public servants willing to sacrifice their lives for mine…

…I know that I am grateful.

“Blessed are the peacemakers; for they shall be called the sons of God.”
Matthew 5:9

“Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.”
Matthew 5:4

“He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High
 Will abide in the shadow of the Almighty.
I will say to the Lord, ‘My refuge and my fortress,
My God, in whom I trust!’
For it is He who delivers you from the snare of the trapper
And from the deadly pestilence.
He will cover you with His pinions,
And under His wings you may seek refuge;
His faithfulness is a shield and bulwark.”
Psalm 91:1-4

My RefugeDonna Tallman

My Refuge
Donna Tallman

Please pray for the law enforcement community in Southern California.

What do you know?

© Copyright, 2013 by Donna Tallman.

Contact: sogreatajourney@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

