Posted by: donnatallman | January 30, 2013

What Makes Us Angry?

Considering Jesus Challenge

 What Makes Us Angry?

Matthew 21:12-13

Day 30, January 30, 2013, Wednesday:

“And Jesus entered the temple and drove out all those who were buying and selling in the temple, and overturned the tables of the money changers and the seats of those who were selling doves. And He said to them, ‘It is written, ‘My house shall be called a house of prayer’; but you are making it a robbers’ den.'” Matthew 21:12-13

I know I’ll probably regret this blog post as soon as it goes live, but I decided to try and be authentic to the entire “world” anyway. I found today’s challenge passage pretty convicting – agonizing actually.

Just for kicks I decided to list some of the things I get angry about, and while I don’t consider myself an angry person, I was shocked to see how stupid some of the things are.

Things that make me angry:

  • When I’m late
  • People who talk or text on their phones when they are in a meeting
  • A flat tire or car problems
  • Running out of gas because the last driver ran it down
  • Sarcasm (yes, for those of you who know me, this is absolutely the pot calling the kettle black)
  • People who are condemning
  • Being misunderstood
  • When someone leaves only one small spoonful of ice cream in the container
  • When a basketball game preempts The Biggest Loser
  • Reaching an intersection at 3 in the morning only to have the green light turn red but there’s no cross traffic
  • When the Denver Broncos lose
  • When John Elway traded Tim Tebow to the Jets only to have him treated like trash all season

Really?

Am I really this shallow?

Yes, unfortunately I am. Given that most of my list comes from self-pity or is outside of my control, I decided to try to list the things that made Jesus angry. Maybe I could learn something.

Things that made Jesus angry:

  • Hindering children from seeking Jesus – Mark 10:14-15
  • Hard hearts to the freedom Jesus offered – Mark 3:5
  • Religious hypocrites – Matthew, chapter 23 (all of the chapter, Jesus really despised hypocrisy)
  • Hijacking the worship of God with financial ambition and profit – Matthew 21:12-13

As I looked through Jesus’ accounts of expressing anger and thought about my own tendencies, it was immediately evident that I flash angry about personal insults and slights, rather than saving my anger for unrighteousness, hypocrisy, or things that are unjust.

I’m thinking my view of myself is a mite too big, and my understanding of what made Jesus angry and why is a mite too small.

Agonizing, simply agonizing.

What makes you angry? What is a better use for your anger?

Considering Jesus Challenge Passage for Tomorrow, January 31, 2013:

Well, everyone, tomorrow is our last day of the Considering Jesus 31-Day Challenge. Here is our last verse to meditate on.

“And Jesus came up and spoke to them, saying, ‘All authority has been given to Me in heaven and on earth. Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.'” Matthew 28:18-20

© Copyright, 2013 by Donna Tallman.

Contact: sogreatajourney@yahoo.com

Responses

  1. Awesome post. I can especially relate to the 3 a.m. red light. I usually run it!

  2. I grew up in an angry household, so I dreamed of an adult life with no anger. Shockingly enough, that didn’t happen. When I get angry, I feel like The Lord is watching me and asking as He did Jonah, if I do well to be angry. I think of James 1:20 that the anger of man does not achieve the righteousness of God, and I think about Jesus’ righteous anger in the temple. Then I think of an old refrigerator poster (from GCBC I think) that says, “never yell at each other unless the house is on fire.”
    What really makes me angry is angry people. 😛

    • That’s a good passage, Doree…the anger of man does not achieve the righteousness of God – good to remember, especially when I feel justified in my anger…the righteous indignation route…I’m not accomplishing what I think I am. thanks for sharing!

  3. When I am at a job site up in the attic to remove insulation,,& I realize.I 4 got my water bottle,So I climb down the ladder go out side walk to my cooler get my water go back to the ladder up into the attic only to find I set the water bottle down to close the cooler. If I had a dime for every time I’v done that…Oh I do. dot dot curvy line(smily face)

    • You make me laugh! Thanks Dale! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

