Posted by: donnatallman | January 26, 2013

Hallelujah Day!

Considering Jesus Challenge

Hallelujah Day!

Revelation 21:5-7

Day 26, January 26, 2013, Saturday:

New Things are Coming

Photo by Donna Tallman

“And He who sits on the throne said, ‘Behold, I am making all things new.’ And He said, ‘Write, for these words are faithful and true.’ Then He said to me, ‘It is done. I am the Alpha and the Omega, the beginning and the end. I will give to the one who thirsts from the spring of the water of life without cost. He who overcomes will inherit these things, and I will be his God and he will be My son.’” Revelation 2:5-7

“I am making all things new…”

Why is Jesus making all things new? If you bump back up to verse 4 that we looked at yesterday, you’ll see that he’s making all things new because the first things have passed away.

What were those first things?

Death, mourning, crying, and pain.

All those things that caused me distress in yesterday’s passage, Jesus will take away and make new. First he will wipe my tears away, and then he will re-create everything and make it new. The old things, the first things, have passed away.

Hallelujah Day!

As I thought about that this morning, the verses about old things passing away and new things taking their place bubbled to the surface and I started to see something new.

Revelation 21:1  “Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth; for the first heaven and the first earth passed away, and there is no longer any sea.”

Revelation 21:4  “And He will wipe away every tear from their eyes; and there will no longer be any death; there will no longer be any mourning, or crying, or pain; the first things have passed away.”

2 Corinthians 5:17  “Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creature, the old things passed away, behold, new things have come.”

Psalm 37:36  “Then he passed away, and lo, he was no more; I sought for him, but he could not be found.”

When someone dies we often use the euphemism “passed away” instead of simply saying he died. I have never liked the phrase because it feels like I am denying that someone I love has died. It seems as if I am not willing to admit the hard reality that I won’t ever see them again.

I think I’ve missed something.

Could it be that the origin of the phrase, “passed away,” comes from Scripture itself? Is it also possible that there is hope hidden in the expression and not denial?

Interesting.

When Revelation 21:4 says that death, mourning, crying, and pain have all “passed away” it sets the stage for what is to come. What is to come is in the very next verse – Jesus is making all things new! So, “new” things can’t come until the old is gone, until it has passed away.

1 Thessalonians 4:13  “But we do not want you to be uninformed, brethren, about those who are asleep, so that you will not grieve as do the rest who have no hope.”

Photo by Donna Tallman

Photo by Donna Tallman

Jesus wants us to have hope as we walk through the trials this life throws at us. He never wants us to feel unhinged or forgotten in the midst of our suffering. Jesus “is making” all things new. This is not a vague promise for some random end of the age time period; it’s his current activity on our behalf. Jesus is making all things new – present tense. We can have hope for what we’re facing now, as well as, have hope for those who have died in Christ.

He is making all things new, and there will come a time when he is finished with that process.

Revelation 21:6  “Then He said to me, ‘It is done. I am the Alpha and the Omega, the beginning and the end. I will give to the one who thirsts from the spring of the water of life without cost.”

“It is done,” the verse says. It makes me think of Jesus’ words on the cross in John 19:30 when he said, “It is finished!”

In the beginning – Alpha

It is finished – Omega

Completion. Old things have passed away and new things have come.

Okay, Lord Jesus, bring it on; bring on the new!

Considering Jesus Challenge Passage for Tomorrow, January 27, 2013:

Luke 4:1-13 – The temptation of Jesus by his archenemy.

© Copyright, 2013 by Donna Tallman.

Contact: sogreatajourney@yahoo.com

Responses

  1. Thanks. I needed that! 🙂

  2. A time to make new..hummm you are right there is a time when new is our best or only choice…I pray that we have a new awakening of our Lord Jesus and His role in our world,country, society, community,family, and personal lives…today is a brand new day!

    • Yes, Jesus’ work at making things new is bigger than just my personal needs. He is re-creating everything!


Leave a Reply

Categories

