Posted by: donnatallman | January 22, 2013

The Rest of Relationship

Considering Jesus Challenge

The Rest of Relationship

Matthew 11:28-30

Day 22, January 22, 2013, Tuesday

Colorado Heart

Photo by Donna Tallman

“Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30

This morning as I walked through this passage with Jesus, I realized how self-focused I have always been while reading it. Our world constantly swirls with turmoil and anxiety so we are people desperately in need of rest. I’ve often expected Jesus just to provide the rest I need because he said he would, but my ability to rest doesn’t just lie with Jesus’ initiative; I have a responsibility in it as well.

Yes, this passage offers rest, but it comes through the door of an ongoing relationship with the gentle and humble Master Teacher. Rest is not something Jesus unilaterally does “to” us; it’s something we learn while walking in tandem with him through the challenges life throws at us.

Consider Jesus in this section of scripture and see what he shows you about his role in our rest. This is what I heard this morning:

The kindness of Jesus makes room for my need, his humility brings me in out of the storm, and his instruction secures my rest after the world has battered my soul.

Considering Jesus Challenge Passage for Tomorrow January 23, 2013:

“Jesus said to him, ‘Have I been so long with you, and yet you have not come to know Me, Philip? He who has seen Me has seen the Father; how can you say, ‘Show us the Father’?'” John 14:9

© Copyright, 2013 by Donna Tallman.

Contact: sogreatajourney@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

