Posted by: donnatallman | January 20, 2013

Leaving Peace

Considering Jesus Challenge

Leaving Peace

John 14:27

Day 20, January 20, 2013, Sunday

Photo by Donna Tallman

Photo by Donna Tallman

“Peace I leave with you; My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your heart be troubled, nor let it be fearful.” John 14:27

I can’t look at John 14:27 without prefacing it with verse 1 of the chapter. In my Bible I’ve drawn a red line connecting the two making them bookends to what Jesus wanted to communicate to his disciples in one of his last private conversations with them.

So, in my mind it reads:

“Do not let your heart be troubled; believe in God, believe also in Me. Peace I leave with you; My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your heart be troubled, nor let it be fearful.” John 14:1

Jesus and his disciples are in the Upper Room sharing their last meal together before Jesus is arrested, convicted, and crucified. Knowing the end is near, Jesus’ own heart becomes troubled. John 13:21 says that earlier in the evening Jesus’ heart was troubled when he revealed that one of them would betray him.

This is a man in his last hours. Instead of spending them with his natural family, Jesus has surrounded himself with the men who have ministered with him every day for the last three years. John, chapters 13 through 17 are about passing the baton to those who will be left behind after Jesus is dead.

John 14:27 says that Jesus is going to leave the disciples something when he’s gone; he’s going to leave them his peace.

Which made me wonder…

What else did Jesus leave his disciples?

Suddenly this morning while meditating on Jesus leaving peace to his disciples in John 14:27, the entire chapter morphed into an oral recitation of Jesus’ “Last Will and Testament.” Look at what else Jesus leaves to his disciples in this chapter:

  1. Jesus leaves them encouragement to have faith – John 14:1
  2. Jesus leaves them hope for the future – John 14:1-6
  3. Jesus leaves them a connection to his Father – John 14:7-15
  4. Jesus leaves them the Holy Spirit – John 14:16-17
  5. Jesus leaves them himself with his promise to return – John 14:18
  6. Jesus leaves them his word – John 14:21-24
  7. Jesus leaves them his peace – John 14:27
  8. Jesus leaves them his presence – John 14:18

Jesus is giving the men he loves dearly everything they will need to carry on after he’s gone.

2 Peter 1:3-4a says, “Seeing that His divine power has granted to us everything pertaining to life and godliness, through the true knowledge of Him who called us by His own glory and excellence. For by these He has granted to us His precious and magnificent promises, so that by them you may become partakers of the divine nature…”

Peter was there!

When Jesus distributed everything the disciples would need pertaining to life and godliness, Peter was in that room. When Jesus uttered those magnificent promises to his disciples, he was giving them all that was most beloved and precious to him. As one of his last acts on earth, Jesus bequeathed to his disciples all of his assets in the form of these promises. In order for us to benefit from our own inheritance in Christ, we need to receive all of those promises into our own lives and use them.

How do we do that?

I think the clue is in the bookends: John 14:1 and 14:27. These two verses contain the only imperatives (commands) used in the chapter. The ability to receive all that Jesus endowed, comes down to how we manage the imperatives given in chapter 14. Because they are commands, the implication is that we have control over things like worry, belief, and fear. We can choose how we incorporate them or not.

Just like we’ve talked about before, the imperatives have an unwritten, but an implied “you” in them, which directs them right at us.

(You)  Don’t let your heart be troubled  14:1

(You)  Believe in God  14:1

(You)  Believe in Me  14:1

(You)  Do not let your heart be troubled  14:27

(You)  Do not let your heart be fearful  14:27

The better able I am to fulfill these imperatives, the more Jesus’ peace will impact my heart.

Photo by Donna Tallman

Photo by Donna Tallman

“My peace I give to you. Not as the world gives, do I give to you…”

So, Jesus’ peace is different that the world’s peace.

Yes. The world’s peace is an absence of trouble, frustration, angst, and war.

I can have Jesus’ peace at all times regardless, or in spite of, the circumstances swirling around me. The world’s peace is temporary and conditional, but Jesus’ peace is so powerful it can give me a quiet heart even in the midst of war, temptation, persecution, and trouble.

What an amazing passage…

What did you see in it today?

“Peace I leave with you; My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your heart be troubled, nor let it be fearful.” John 14:27

Considering Jesus Challenge Passage for Tomorrow January 21, 2013:

“Therefore, since we have a great high priest who has passed through the heavens, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold fast our confession. For we do not have a high priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses, but One who has been tempted in all things as we are, yet without sin. Therefore let us draw near with confidence to the throne of grace, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.” Hebrews 4:14-16

© Copyright, 2013 by Donna Tallman.

Contact: sogreatajourney@yahoo.com

Responses

  1. Donna, thank you for your beautiful post. If all of us choose to connect to His peace imagine the change in ourselves and the world!

    • No kidding….life as we know it would be so different! I believe personal peace is the missing piece to changing the world. We won’t see peace break across the globe until it breaks into our fortified hearts. 🙂

  2. Jesus’ peace is different from worldly peace…the first time I can’t remember calling out for His peace was when I was 5 years old and my daddy had died. I felt so aline, and I called out to God and asked why he had to take him from me and how could I survive wirhout him.As I cried out I began to feel that heavenly peace engulf me and tell me that “I am your Father and I will always be with you and anyrhing you need I will make sure you have it.” The love that I received that night, in that bunkbed, has filled me everyday of my life since. I know that peace that only my heavenly Father can give, because of His promise to me all those years ago…I tested. He doesn’t fail!

    • Thank you, Cheryl. God is faithful to meet us in our deepest need and see us through the storm with his peace. It’s difficult to even describe his peace to those who haven’t experienced it, but I pray that others will know what you experienced at an early age.


Leave a Reply

Categories

