Posted by: donnatallman | January 7, 2013

Surviving the Storm

Considering Jesus Challenge

Matthew 14:28-31

Instead of setting New Year’s resolutions this year, I decided to switch my focus off myself and think more about Jesus. Many of you wanted to join in so, throughout the month of January I’m posting a meditation verse on the right-hand side of the blog underneath the Jesus picture. The next morning we sit with the verse and allow God to speak, teach, and/or encourage us with something new about Jesus from the passage. Remember that our focus is on seeing Jesus…on considering him.

If you’d like to see the blog entry that started this whole thing, here’s the link to give you the bigger picture: https://donnatallman.wordpress.com/2012/12/31/ditching-new-years-resolutions/ I will try to update the blog each day so you can see how God is speaking, but if I’m not able to write an entry, I will be sure to post a new verse for the next day. Keep sharing your insights with all of us – it’s great to learn from one another!

Day 7, January 7, 2013, Monday

“Peter said to Him, ‘Lord, if it is You, command me to come to You on the water.’ And He said, ‘Come!’ And Peter got out of the boat, and walked on the water and came toward Jesus. But seeing the wind, he became frightened, and beginning to sink, he cried out, ‘Lord, save me!’ Immediately Jesus stretched out His hand and took hold of him, and said to him, ‘You of little faith, why did you doubt?’” Matthew 14:28-31

Jesus ushered the disciples into a boat and instructed them to go over to the other side so he could send the crowds away. While they were out on the sea, the winds picked up. Large swells battered the boat. Sometime during the night, Jesus walked toward them on the water. Instead of being relieved, the disciples were terrified thinking he was a ghost instead.

“Take courage,” Jesus said, “It is I; do not be afraid.”

Oh, well, it’s just Jesus, ‘sall good…

Or not.

The guy was walking on top of the water. People don’t walk on water – it’s outrageous. It’s impossible!

Well, Peter loved the outrageous and wanted a piece of the action so he called out to Jesus. “If it is you, Lord, command me to come.” If it is you revealed Peter’s insecurity. Even though Jesus had assured the disciples he wasn’t a ghost, Peter still wasn’t 100% certain, so he started his sentence with “if.” Peter needed more proof.

“Command me to come to you on the water,” was Peter’s way of ruling out the ghost scenario and discerning exactly who this person was. Peter knew Jesus had authority over natural elements, so he tested Jesus’ identity by having Jesus demonstrate it.

Peter’s acknowledgement of Jesus’ authority was a great statement of his faith in him, and Jesus responded positively. “Come!” Jesus called. Jesus called Peter out of the safety of the boat into danger. Peter was a fisherman – he lived on the water so the waves shouldn’t have been threatening, but they were. Even if he sank, Peter could still swim back to the boat, but scripture says he was afraid. Why? It was a huge storm.

The key to surviving a storm is to know that God called you out into the winds in the first place. Peter was spot on to verify Jesus’ voice and wait for Jesus to call him. He didn’t just jump into the sea unannounced, Peter waited to be called by the Master.

Has God ever called you out of safety and into danger?

Are you kidding?

He does it all the time. That’s how we grow.

Considering Jesus Challenge Passage for Tomorrow January 8, 2013:

“I am the good shepherd; the good shepherd lays down His life for the sheep. He who is a hired hand, and not a shepherd, who is not the owner of the sheep, sees the wolf coming, and leaves the sheep and flees, and the wolf snatches them and scatters them. He flees because he is a hired hand and is not concerned about the sheep. I am the good shepherd, and I know My own and My own know Me.””

© Copyright, 2013 by Donna Tallman.

Contact: sogreatajourney@yahoo.com

Responses

  1. My first thoughts were of how Peter responded (as in putting myself in his position). It occurred to me, that was still focusing on myself and not Jesus. By shifting my focus, I was struck by His call to ‘come’, come into deeper waters with Me. Upon taking that step, His help is ‘immediate’ when our faith fails the call to ‘come.’

    • Isn’t it hard to keep your focus on Jesus and not the others in the story?! That’s been a real challenge for me, that’s for sure. I love the fact that Jesus invites us out into deep water – and then stays with us all the way through the storm! Loved your comment about his help being immediate!

  2. What I was struck by is Peter does leave the safety of the boat, but he’s walking on the water just like Jesus! I have the power when I step out of the safety of the boat. Jesus gives me that power. That is very encouraging to me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

