Posted by: donnatallman | January 5, 2013

A New Tallman!

Considering Jesus Challenge

Mark 8:29

Day 5, January 5, 2013, Saturday

“And He continued by questioning, ‘But who do you say that I am?’ Peter answered and said to Him, ‘You are the Christ.'” Mark 8:29

Forgive my absence on the blog today everyone. We’ve been in Denver celebrating the final adoption of our new grandson. I thought you might want to see the little creature.

Now a Tallman!

The Newest Tallman!

I had a great time with the Lord this morning praying through today’s verse from Mark 8:29. I think what struck me most about this passage is the value Jesus placed on his disciples. He had asked them what people in general thought about him, but then zeroed in on the disciples’ opinion. “Who do YOU say that I am,” Jesus asked.

Who I believe Jesus to be is important. It matters. I had a high school teacher who challenged and insulted my faith in Christ several times during my senior year. She assured me that one day I would realize he wasn’t who I thought he was. She was wrong; he is everything I believed him to be, and so much more than I ever could have imagined.

That one question, “Who do YOU say that I am?” has been the driving force of my life ever since. Jesus is everything to me…I stopped this morning and replayed my life of faith in light of Jesus’ question and realized just how very grateful I am that Jesus cares about my perception of him and that he has demonstrated his consistency in my life all of these years. No earth-shattering revelations this morning, just a grateful heart.

Considering Jesus Challenge Passage for Tomorrow January 6, 2013:

“An argument started among them as to which of them might be the greatest. But Jesus, knowing what they were thinking in their heart, took a child and stood him by His side, and said to them, ‘Whoever receives this child in My name receives Me, and whoever receives Me receives Him who sent Me; for the one who is least among all of you, this is the one who is great.'” Luke 9:46-48

© Copyright, 2013 by Donna Tallman.

Contact: sogreatajourney@yahoo.com

Responses

  1. When I thought about Mark 8:29, two other verses came to me: Peter in John 6:68, “Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life. Also we have come to believe and know that You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.” and Matthew 5:16, Jesus speaking to the multitudes, “Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.”
    I have spoken those words of Peter to our Lord myself in times of uncertainty, and been reminded by Matthew 5:16 that our faith is not to be kept hidden. We confess who The Lord is with our mouth and our deeds.

    This little cutie looks like he is saying, “whew, I made it! I’m in!”
    We’re so happy to for you and your new additions to your family!

    • Thanks, Doree…yes, “To whom shall we go?” The disciples understood that Jesus was like none other. He offered them what no other religious leader or ruler had ever offered; Jesus offered them life. His unique and unparalleled offer of life to any who believe provides, not only the life he promised, but also the peace we need as we journey through this life on earth. I love that about Jesus!


Leave a Reply

Categories

