Posted by: donnatallman | January 3, 2013

Moths, Cockroaches, and Lightning Bugs

 Considering Jesus Challenge

 1 John 1:5

Day Three: January 3, 2013, Thursday

Verse to meditate on:

“This is the message we have heard from Him and announce to you, that God is Light, and in Him there is no darkness at all.” 1 John 1:5

Steven Tallman Photography

Steven Tallman Photography

Today’s blog post is a little different than my ordinary “prose” entries. Instead of crafting a blog entry culled from my meditation time on 1 John 1:5, I’m going to pull back the curtain a bit to show you how thoughts and connections come while I’m praying. The section below is what my journal page usually looks like before I sit down to write.

So, after meditating on 1 John 1:5 this morning, this is the raw material given in real time:

Light –                   Dark

Truth –                   Falsehood

Freedom –             Bondage

Clarity  –                Confusion

Transparency –   Hiddenness

Revelation  –         Secrecy

Security  –               Fear

???  What does light do?

Eliminates darkness, dispels darkness, shines, reveals, ignites, blazes, illuminates, glows, radiates, makes the unseen visible…

God = Light

God ≠ Darkness at all!

“This is the judgment, that the Light has come into the world, and men loved the darkness rather than the Light, for their deeds were evil.” John 3:19

???  Do I choose to walk in the light because of what the Light offers, or do I choose the light because the consequences of the darkness are too great?

???  Am I motivated to walk in the light by my love for God or by the fear of evil?

Light Lovers, Light Rebels, and Light Bearers:

Moths are drawn to a light for direction in the darkness, but they are quickly and easily distracted by multiple light sources.

    “There was the true Light which, coming into the world, enlightens every man.” John 1:9

Cockroaches flee from any light source and go into hiding.

    “For nothing is hidden, except to be revealed; nor has anything been secret, but that it would come to light.” Mark 4:22

Lightning Bugs bear light within their own bodies and attract others to themselves.

    “Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven.” Matthew 5:16

Today’s Take-away – Pray through this question:   ???  Am I more like a moth, a cockroach, or a lightning bug?

What did God show you today from 1 John 1:5?

Considering Jesus Challenge Passage for Tomorrow January 4, 2013:

“Seeing the people, He (Jesus) felt compassion for them, because they were distressed and dispirited like sheep without a shepherd.” Matthew 9:36

© Copyright, 2013 by Donna Tallman.

Contact: sogreatajourney@yahoo.com

Responses

  1. Hey Donna. I do not have all my thoughts in order yet so I may not explain so well and maybe hard to follow, but the Lord seemed to lead me to the 10 virgins and their oil. God being the light, (oil source for our lamps) and how we can fool ourselves into thinking we have enough oil but He shows us what the warning signs are that we do not have oil (light) (Him): if we are not obeying Him and walking in darkness, even just a bit, it may be high time to get more oil (filled with HS) so that we can walk in the light. Psalm 18:28 You, OH LORD, keep my lamp burning; my God turns my darkness into light. Thanks for inviting us on this journey with you. The day before I read your post about it I was talking to the Lord about wanting to hook up with someone to help me out with a routine of connecting with Him better (more) I am soooo not an organized person and schedules really are so hard for me, as I like to live moment to moment and be free of “being legalistic”, but to a fault and I really need some routine, at least for a little bit. 🙂 Thanks

    • Hey Tammy,
      Thanks for your thoughts and for joining the journey! That is one thing I do love about cyber-space you can do things at your own pace and not have to worry that you’re going to miss something. 🙂 For those of you who want to pray through Tammy’s insight on the oil, it’s found in Matthew, chapter 25. I’ll be there too reading and praying this evening…well, later after the Ducks beat Kansas State in the Fiesta Bowl! Joy for your journey, Donna.

  2. Sometimes I am a moth, but mostly want to be a lightning bug. Appreciated insights Tammy shared too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

