Posted by: donnatallman | December 22, 2012

Christmas: A Little Child Shall Lead Them

Living on the road for the last six months has offered us tons of adventure, but at Christmastime, predictable and traditional are a welcome relief for me. I’m sitting in a cozy, snow-draped cabin in Colorado, drinking hot chai, and watching the movie, Elf, for the fifth time this week. The outside temperature is below 20 degrees and despite the heat in this warm cabin, my feet are freezing. Finally, life feels normal.

Normal is good…

…especially this year as we celebrate Christmas in the shadow of the Newtown, Connecticut, shooting.

Normal is very good.

Earlier this week I found normal in a most unexpected place – my granddaughter’s pre-school Christmas concert. This was her second annual concert – the first coming last year when she was only three and overwhelmed by all the fal-der-all around her.

This year she was…well, I thought she was inspirational actually. Surrounded by twenty other pre-schoolers doing what pre-schoolers do, Kensie sang her heart out to the Lord. I could actually feel the grief I’d been carrying for the community of Newtown begin to lift as she and her classmates sang, “Do You Hear What I Hear?”

“A little child shall lead them,” says Isaiah 11. Wednesday night the pre-schoolers of Eastern Hills did for me what no one else had done – they led me back to a childlike understanding of the Christmas message: Jesus came to bring light to a dark world…that very darkness we had just seen on horrible display in Connecticut. The children called me back to Jesus; back to innocence.

Kensie Furrowed Christmas Concert

Kensie Singing to the Lord
Photo by Steven Tallman

Psalm 40:3 “He has given me a new song to sing, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see what he has done and be amazed. They will put their trust in the LORD.”

kensie Joy to the World close up

Kensie gives it her all
Photo by Steven Tallman

Psalm 111:1  “Praise the LORD! I will give thanks to the LORD with all my heart, In the company of the upright and in the assembly.”

Kensie singing close up cropped

Kensie’s Joyful Noise
Photo by Steven Tallman

This year as you celebrate Christmas, remember to be on the lookout for “normal.” Normal in God’s economy is light invading the darkness, hope dispelling despair, joy replacing grief, and faith conquering fear. No matter what you are facing this Christmas, I hope you know the Prince of Peace and travel with Him through the challenges you are facing.

Merry Christmas, everybody!

Responses

  1. Thanks for sharing this…normal…personal…peaceful…grateful!

  2. Thank you for sharing the encouragement The Lord gave you…it’s contagious…and we were encouraged too! Merry Christmas dear one!

    • Merry Christmas Doree (et al!)

  3. I love the idea of God’s economy. Something to think about this Christmas.

    • Yes, His economy is so different than ours…if only I could absorb that a little better, I wouldn’t be so rattled by the bumps on this journey of life! Merry Christmas, P.H.!

  4. Your other friends above left meaningful comments. I, on the other hand, am struck by how much Kensie, caught with her mouth wide open, reminds me of her grandma. You, too, give it your all! Merry Christmas, my friend!

    • Alas, you are right….my mouth is always open – she’s certainly her Grandma’s girl! 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

