Posted by: donnatallman | October 26, 2012

Between Storms

Photo by Donna Tallman

I’m between storms at the moment and my spirit feels agitated. You know that rattly, unsettled feeling you get when something small and insignificant grows disproportionally out of control and consumes your every thought – waking or sleeping?

Worrying myself into an anxious knot is my preferred method of dealing with the difficult, but it’s not productive. I know that, but sometimes I still do it anyway. Well, this time God wanted to step in and interdict my predictable spin cycle and teach me a new way to deal with my temper tangents.

When the clouds form and the winds howl horrendous, sometimes it’s good just to go stand out in that storm and let it come at us. God has promised that he will never leave us or forsake us, so he’s with us in our “storms;” we can trust him. It’s okay to stand in the face of them and let them take their best shot.

So, I did. I walked into the storm surge and let it come at me full force. The rains came and the winds raged, but God held me tight…

Then after the storm passed by, I heard God speak.

The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want. He makes me lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside quiet waters. He restores my soul. Psalm 23

Photo by Donna Tallman

The steadfast of mind You will keep in perfect peace, because he trusts in You. Isaiah 26:3

Photo by Donna Tallman

Do not let your heart be troubled; believe in God, believe also in Me. John 14:1

Photo by Donna Tallman

Peace I leave with you; My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your heart be troubled, nor let it be fearful. John 14:27

Photo by Donna Tallman

We are due to leave Colorado for a short trip to the east coast after we dig out of this October snowstorm. When we do, we will be driving right into the face of a monster winter storm aptly dubbed, “Frankenstorm.” All reports show that hurricane Sandy is expected to merge with frigid air blowing down from Canada and wreck havoc along America’s eastern seaboard next week. The backlash promises to be epic.

Every storm threatens, and every storm taunts. No matter how fierce it is, every storm tempts us to enter the anxious vortex of its spin cycle, but God has a better plan. If you find yourself between “storms” this week or next, you can opt out of your anxiety and move to his place of peace. Let Jesus command the wind and the waves to be still, and remember:

  • God has a plan for you in the midst of your storm.
  • God promises his presence in your storm.
  • God promises his peace in your storm.
  • God promises to restore your soul.
  • God is faithful.

God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear, though the earth should change and though the mountains slip into the heart of the sea; though its waters roar and foam, though the mountains quake at its swelling pride. Psalm 46:1-3

Responses

  1. Will be praying for you as you and your family travel to the Eastern Seaboard during this bad storm. Please pray for me as I am in a storm that seems unending and evil. Thanks for your helpful comments at a difficult time!

    • Thanks for your prayers! We anticipate going when the storm has passed North Carolina, but want to be ready to help once we get there. We’ll be spending time in Maryland which may get hit pretty hard as well. Pray for opportunities to help and comfort others – I’m sure the east coast will have so much to deal with.

  2. We will pray for your peace and protection. Since Steve is a weather junkie, we’ve seen many of these predicted giants be downgraded. We’ll pray for
    that to happen as well.
    I’m thankful the Lord encouraged you to write this…it is what the Lord has been teaching me through so many of my own storms (my natural tendency is to run, which doesn’t work, of course!). Praying for that dear lady who responded first, and hugs and love to you both! ❤

    • Yes…I’m a weather junkie too…but this one is unbelievable. Will keep you posted when we make landfall – should have some opportunities to help.

  3. Great post. I worry about a lot of things – what I can’t figure out is how to give it all to God. It just keeps coming back. Prayers to you as you head east.

    • Thanks for the prayers, Andrew, we can sure use them. Hmmm…how to give it all to God without it coming back? Worries can be Like boomerangs can’t they? I think when I sense the boomerang cycle taking over I give a shout out to people I trust to tell me the truth. I call on people who will pray for me, pray with me, and who will be faithful to follow-up with me to be sure I’m still standing in faith. It makes all the difference. God doesn’t want us to walk alone through our challenges – I hope you have people like that around you

  4. Praying for you and your family as you face the storm.

    • Thanks, Jane. Looks like we’re going to try to leave tomorrow evening. The devastation is so catastrophic.

  5. Once again, I feel excitement as you travel to another adventure. Praying for the doors to open and His healing virtue to flow.

    • Thanks for the encouragement. 🙂 Since I’m not adventurous by nature, it’s been really great to have the boys with us to prod me on. We’re having a great time so far.


Leave a Reply

Categories

