Posted by: donnatallman | September 27, 2012

Bridge to Nowhere

Photo by Donna Tallman

Even though we haven’t been in Colorado very long, I’ve already found some favorite haunts where I like to go to be alone, to think, to pray, or just absorb the beauty of this place. Somehow the grandeur of the Rocky Mountains makes it easier to view God in a larger context, instead of restricting him to my puny, limited, clouded focus.

Perspective…Sometimes I just need a great big view of God, don’t you?

Photo by Donna Tallman

One of my new favorite places to escape to is a bridge high on a hill that overlooks a wide valley of trees, red rocks, and the stunning beauty that is Colorado. We call it the bridge to nowhere, and truly it is. The bridge is built onto a rock outcropping just beyond a subdivision of custom-built homes. It’s only about 200 feet long, and at one time appears to have had electricity connected to it. Other than that, it’s hard to tell why the bridge is even there.

Stories abound. I don’t know why I need to have an explanation for why there’s a bridge in the middle of nowhere going nowhere, but I do. I’ve thought through several scenarios as to who may have put it there and why, but none is satisfying. I took my Oregonian friend, Janet, there last week and she practically concocted a one-act play around why there’s a bridge to nowhere in the middle of nowhere.

I guess I’m not alone in that. Sci-Fi writer, George R.R. Martin has said, “Why is it that when one man builds a wall, the next man immediately needs to know what’s on the other side?”

Curiosity…Sometimes I just want to know, don’t you?

Bob and I are in the early stages of launching a project we believe God called us to more than twenty-five years ago. Because things are still in the formative stages, there are lots of questions we really can’t answer even though we’ve tried. We know we’re supposed to do this, God has called us to this adventure, but we don’t really know what all the specifics are going to look like yet.

We’re okay with the unknown, but the unknown can be seriously unsettling for those who know and love us.

Here are just a few questions we’ve fielded in the last few weeks:

What will you be doing exactly?

Exactly? Well, we’re not sure, exactly.

Where will you live?

We’re not sure yet.

Will you buy a place or rent?

Don’t know.

How will you support yourselves?

Dunno.

The more questions people ask, the shorter my answers get. Now, I just say, “Dunno,” and call it good. My friend, Robbi, is in the same situation. She and her husband are following God’s leading, but only receive specific details about his plan right before they need them. In the waiting, she’s often asked questions beyond what they know. We’ve threatened to get each other t-shirts that say, “Dunno,” on them just to streamline our answers.

It’s not that we’re clueless and don’t know anything; it’s more that we don’t want to run ahead of God’s plan and force our answers onto his process. Our perspective is limited, so we surrender our details to God’s plan and rest in his timing.

Photo by Donna Tallman

Maybe you’re in a similar season. Maybe you don’t have all the answers…or any answers about your future. Maybe you’re trying to decide where to attend college, or even if you should attend college, and people are questioning you about your plans. Maybe you just graduated and are looking for a job, but aren’t sure which field to go into. Perhaps you’d really like to take a “time out” and just see where the road takes you. You might even have a family and believe God is asking you to leave your career behind to devote yourself to serving others – to something new. As you consider it, the financial risk is staggering, not to mention terrifying.

Be prepared. People might not understand. People who love and care about you will have questions. Some might even say, “So, you’re basically jumping off a cliff without a parachute.”

Well, no, not exactly jumping off a cliff without a parachute. Maybe jumping off a cliff with Jeremiah 29:11-13 in hand:

“’For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon Me and come and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart.’”

I don’t know where God’s road is taking you at the moment, and I don’t know where you’ll end up, but I do know this: God does not build bridges to nowhere. Everything he does is intentional, and everything he does is purposeful.

Even if you should find yourself in a place that feels like a “bridge to nowhere going nowhere,” stop and look around. Enjoy the view; enjoy the perspective. God may have brought you there to simply give you a bigger view of himself, and confirm his plan for you. The bridge isn’t going nowhere; it’s leading you into a greater experience of his love for you and a greater expression of your faith in him.

So, relax, absorb all that you can, and enjoy the moment!

Sometimes don’t you just need a great big view of God?

© Copyright, 2012 by Donna Tallman.

Contact: sogreatajourney@yahoo.com

Responses

  1. I think it is amazing that this will probably be the mission that God planned for you all those years ago before he gave you sons with amanzing hearts for the Lord. I know about 30 year dreams being fulfilled and I hope to see you living out those dreams, also. It actually helps me to make sense of the last twenty years we spent together trying to figure things out. I totally get how God only shows your friend one step at a time because that is how He has always worked with me, even at the times when I had the least light and most needed His leading.

  2. I AM ON the bridge to nowhere�..I thought that was you over there in that jacket!!!!!! Thank you! Once again spot on!

    • Isn’t it good to know we are not alone! Thanks, Susan. By the way, let me know if you need to borrow my jacket! 🙂

  3. Thank you, sweet (and sometimes mischievous) lady, “dunno” works for me. Love the T-shirt idea, however am so excited that you have your family as partners in this adventure that God is leading you in and to.


Leave a Reply

Categories

