Posted by: donnatallman | October 28, 2011

The Goal Line Stand

Fall = Football, Football = Family, Family = Food. As it was, shall it ever  be!

I love football season – everything about it. I always have and I always will, but it’s not just the game that I love, or the food; it’s the metaphors football offers. For the last several days I have been obsessing about the goal  line stand. For those of you who are not football fanatics, a goal line stand happens when a team gets down within five yards of scoring a touchdown and the opposing defense mounts an all-out team effort to keep them out of the end zone. I think it’s one of the most significant moments in any game.

One of the most famous goal line stands came in the 1979 Sugar Bowl when the University of Alabama Crimson Tide repelled Penn State in the last few minutes of the game and won. (My apologies to my beloved Auburn cousins for that Alabama reference. Yeah, I know better.)

So, I’ve been wondering…what in my life needs a goal line stand? What has come against me day after day and needs me to take a stand and say, “No more, you’re not getting through?” What do I need to oppose?

We all have challenges and/or weaknesses that beat us up and threaten to defeat us. What is trying to defeat you? Take your stand today – and if you need to grab some buddies to help you make your goal line stand, do that, but by all means stand. Fight for yourself!

“Therefore, take up the full armor of God, so that you will be able to resist in the evil day, and having done everything, to stand firm. Stand firm, therefore, having girded your loins with truth, and having put on the breastplate of righteousness.” Ephesians 6:13-14

“I think whenever you play football, at any time it could be your last play, that’s the great thing about this sport. Every week and every play, you have to play like it’s your last.” Shaun Alexander (former Seattle Seahawk)

If today is my last day on earth, I’d really like to go out with a goal line stand!

©Copyright, 2011 by Donna Tallman.

Responses

  1. January? I can’t remember that long ago…arg…

  2. I like the idea, adding the question “did I work hard enough today to get better” at what ever it is I am striving to achieve?

    BTW: Apology accepted, I recall one from last January but I am sure you wouldn’t want to go into that.

    War Eagle!

  3. finally – we don’t have to wait for the book to get published to enjoy your wit and wisdom. Thanks for doing this for us non (read: opposed, radically opposed, defiant) face book personna.

  4. Ephesians 6:13, what a great choice!

  5. I have always hated football. To show my disdain I used to refer to it as that game with the big H-es at the ends of the big lawn or the game where the guy with the ball runs where the most people are. But two years ago I sat down on the couch with Dave and started watching a football game. I actually understood what was happening. I do not know what happened in my brain, but now I like football. I drive Dave crazy wanting to know why this happened or why that call was made. I was so excited to read about the goal line stand – I knew what you were talking about. What a great picture you created in my mind of me standing on the goal line in the full armor of God who makes it possible for me to succeed and be well-pleasing to Him. I am so looking forward to your blogs. Yea! Saints — I mean the New Orleans Saints, Silly.

    Tracey

    • Tracey….yeah, I knew who you meant….Drew Brees is one of my favorites. He’s right after Tim Tebow and the Broncos!

  6. Love the analogy. Seems to be a question staring many of us in the face at this point in time.

  7. Now I can get my fix of “Tallmanisms” on a regular basis. I’m excited! I’m excited! I’m excited!

    • Hey, miss you rivercityinc! Glad to have you join the fun.

  8. I agree with David… War Eagle

    • My Auburn cousins are amazing. Thanks, Sharon!

  9. What a blessing this is…thank You, Lord for Donna’s gift of writing and encouragement!
    (I started liking football after watching Facing the Giants 🙂

  10. You are always such a blessing. Keep up the hard work!


Leave a Reply

Categories

